Categories
Uncategorized

MUST OR MADNESS

Consuming things we need creates a demand that the planet can’t cope with. Over consumption is a situation where we do not need certain things but we desire it, we think those things will make our life easier. We are taking too much stuff from nature, make it into stuff so we can use it. We use from chemicals to plastics to fertiliser to smart phones to meat and then dispose of it carelessly into the atmosphere, the oceans and the land and creating a large amount of pollution.

It’s a generally accepted fact that we all have been over-consuming for quite some time. The planet has had enough of our habits, and a lot of people have become fed up with clutter on a personal level. Even we started realizing the there are few things in my life which we over consume. I want to showcase few of my things which I over consumed in past years and how I am trying to control my habits.

 WATCHES :

Picture clicked by me

Watches is one of the product which I over consumed in my past years it wasn’t like all the watches are new or all I have brought, there are few which are even 10-12 years old and few of them are gifts from friends and family. But still the watches are in a good state and it works perfectly. Therefore I don’t need to buy them but when I see new watches advertisement or in magazines I feel like buying it so it’s causing consumption or desire to consume. When I realised that stopped buying or researching about new collection of watches and used my watches more. I even share it with my sister and even gave away one of my watch to my cousin.

LIPSTICKS:

Picture clicked by me

My second over consumption is lipsticks, so I didn’t have this much collection of lipstick before. I started buying so many lipsticks once I was introduced to an online app. I started spending more time in the site it gave me an odd satisfaction seeing so many variety of products and I started buying more. One day I was going through all my lipsticks and realised that all my lipstick shades almost same. After realising that I have so many lipsticks that’s also  of same kind of shades I stopped purchasing any more, and the once I already have.

DEODORANT:

Picture clicked by me

My Sister has lot of deodorant. She does to gym and then office so she needs deodorant but then she started over consuming it. She wanted different and variety of fragrances. Then one day while using her deodorant I pointed out the one of her deodorant is about to expire in a month and most of the bottle is still left. Since then she stopped purchasing so much and started using the products and even shared it with me and my cousins and always keeps a check on expiry dates.

This were few of the over consumption stories which I have experienced in my life. Sometimes I think the best way to put the brakes on our greed would be to halt the trash pickup and temporarily close donation centres so that citizens would have to face and think about the amount of waste we generate. We sweep our mess under the rug of faraway landfills and can blissfully live in an out-of-sight-out-of-mind relationship with our waste.

Leave a comment